### APPROVED March 20, 2015

# University Senate Minutes of the Senate February 20, 2015

**Members Present:** Alinaa Alsaud, Lisa Burkhart, Tim Classen, David Embrick, Michael Fasullo, Alanah Fitch, Lucas Fleisher, Lisa Gillespie, Zelda Harris, Adam Hepp, Isha Jog, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Timothy Lacy, Ronald Martin, Niamh McGuigan, Kenechukwu Mmeje, Melissa Niksic Christopher Peterson, Noah W. Sobe (Chair), Anne Sutter, Maria Udo.

### I. Welcome

The Chair, Noah W. Sobe, declared a quorum and called the meeting to order at 3:03pm. He welcomed the Senators and guests.

### II. Adoption of October 31, 2014 minutes

T. Lacy moved that senate approve the minutes as amended. A. Sutter seconded the motion. The question was called and the motion carried unanimously.

### III. Announcements and Follow up reports on previous senate resolutions

The Chair announced in the interim between today and our last meeting at the end of October several important activities had unfolded. On November 14, 2014 President Garanzini signed off, approving the University Senate Bylaws, now making us a permanent body of university shared governance. The Chair also noted that to secure the 4th floor of the Info Commons and to block out people's schedules, the University Senate meetings for 2015-16 have already been scheduled and are posted on the Senate webpages. In addition, the Chair reported that the Senate's Extraordinary Committee on Faculty had met in December and in January and that in close collaboration and consultation with Faculty Council had recommended approval of a set of amendments to the Faculty Handbook.

The Chair announced that Tyler Hough, a student Senator, had graduated from the university and that SGLC had appointed Isha Jog to serve out the remainder of Hough's term. Jog will also fill Hough's position on the Budget and Strategic Planning Senate Committee.

The Chair also reported on several Executive Committee decisions regarding Senate Elections. To phase in the change from campus-based to divisional-based representation for Staff – and per the bylaws stipulations for odd-year elections – the Senate will consider that the open seats for the 2015-17 term to be from Academic / Student Services and from Financial Services or Capital Planning and Campus Management. The two positions being vacated by Ron Martin and Joyce Knight will be filled via elections from these two areas. When the terms of Tim Lacy, KC Mmeje and Melissa Niksic conclude in Spring 2016 we will conduct elections to fill divisional Staff positions from Health Sciences Campus, Administrative Services and Advancement. The Chair also noted that because election of the newly-created Faculty representative from "Other (SCPS, IPS, IES, Centers of Excellence)" is slated to occur in even years, this year we will be conducting a special election for a Faculty member from "Other (SCPS, IPS, IES, Centers of Excellence)" to serve a one-year term.

### APPROVED March 20, 2015

The chair then welcomed Dr. Winifred Williams Loyola's new Vice President, Human Resources and Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer. Dr. Williams spoke briefly to the Senate, introducing herself and noting that the development of a statement on diversity was among the items under development.

At the request of the Chair, the Provost then reported on his appointment of faculty representatives to the Graduate Studies Coordinating Board (GSCB), which are Pamela Caughie, LSC/English (2014-15), Pamela Morris, WTC/Communication (2014-16), and HSD Ken Byron (2014-16). In the case of the LSC and HSD representatives he was able to choose from the University Senate's nominations, however for the WTC representative he had to arrange an alternate because both of the Senate nominees were considered ineligible to serve.

The Provost also noted the upcoming Higher Learning Commission visit and invited all faculty, staff and students to examine Loyola's Assurance Argument, posted online, and also to participate in open sessions with the HLC next week.

### IV. Textbook Affordability

Discussion ensued of the proposed recommendations regarding textbook affordability presented to the Senate by the SGLC and reviewed by the Senate's Academic Affairs and Research Committee. Following extensive discussion of exactly what language to use and steps to recommend, the following motion was proposed by L. Fleisher and seconded by T. Classen.

The University Senate recommends that the Provost explore the following options to help alleviate the cost of course materials for Loyola students: (1) Ensure that no financial aid packages, scholarships, grants, etc. restrict students to buying course materials from specific vendors. And (2) regularly research and disseminate information regarding more affordable options for textbooks and other class materials.

The motion passed by a vote of 19 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions.

### V. Fossil Fuel Divestment

The Chair invited several individuals to make brief, five-minute presentations outlining important considerations on the question of fossil fuel divestment. This included Aaron Durnbaugh, Loyola's Director of Sustainability; representatives of the Student Environmental Alliance; Professors Sandra Sullivan Dunbar and Professor Aana Vigen, the primary authors of a faculty petition addressed to the Senate Chair; and Eric Jones, Loyola's Chief Investment Officer.

Following extensive discussion, the Chair opened the floor for motions and T. Lacy proposed the following motion:

The Senate recommends to the President that Loyola University Chicago immediately freeze any new investment in fossil fuel companies, divest from direct ownership within 18 months, and divest from any commingled funds that include fossil fuel public equities and corporate bonds within 5 years. In addition we recommend that future investments, shareholder advocacy, and sustainable reinvestment include renewable energy technology and the Edgewater and Rogers Park economy.

The Motion was seconded by T. Kilbane. After discussion and a period of public comment, the question was called and the motion passed by a vote of 18 in favor, 1 opposed and 0 abstentions.

## APPROVED March 20, 2015

VI. Adjournment
The Chair noted that the next meeting will be held on March 20th on the 4th floor of the Information Commons, LSC. The meeting was adjourned at 5:06 pm

Respectfully Submitted Joyce D. Knight, Secretary, University Senate